babies · growth · marriage · newborn · parenting

2011 Another Years End*

Confession 1: I slept through the ringing in of the new year.

I have to say, 2011 was probably one of the busiest of my life; it was also the best. In 2011 I got pregnant. And even in the midst of what could only be termed exceptional morning sickness I somehow** managed to complete my last semester classes, internship, and thesis and walked across the stage to receive my Masters Degree with a bit of a baby bump hidden under my graduation gown.

My Mr. and I spent our first summer vacation together in our 6 years of marriage (peeps in education have got it goin’ on! Why did it take me so long to cross over?).  During the summer we traveled a bit, watched a ton of movies, had our backyard landscaped and put together a darling nursery for our little Peanut as I watched my waist line grow and grow. I learned important pregnant lady life lessons during the summer like: how to rock myself in order to get enough momentum to get up from the couch, that somedays just napping makes you tired, and that you can never have too many orange creamsicles in your freezer.

Confession 2: I still have a freezer burned bag of creamsicles in my freezer that have enough ice on them now that I could probably scrape it off and let Baby Girl have a snow day.

I somehow (again, see below) managed to have the perfect part-time School Psychologist position fall in my lap as well as secured one other school to do contract work for. Although we no longer have much extra, we are able to meet our financial needs and I get to be home with my baby girl the remainder of the week. Which is an amazing  blessing.

We welcomed our Little One into the world in 2011. She was a month early, tiny, and feisty with a scream that could make her NICU nurses stop and take notice. Our world changed completely the day she came, but it was a change completely for the better.

So here comes another year. This past one was so amazing it seems greedy to expect another. So instead I will look to the year ahead holding this promise near:

You can be sure that God will take care of everything you need, his generosity exceeding even yours in the glory that pours from Jesus. Our God and Father abounds in glory that just pours out into eternity. (Philippians 4:19-20, The Message)

 

*Yes, yes, I know, I am a couple of days late. But hey, I have a three-month old!

** Somehow = God

Leave a comment